SeanB

Well Known Member
I'm new to the wiring part of aircraft. Stein has built some beautiful harnesses for my dual G3X Touch screens. I asked for service loops on everything. Will also be using a VPX.

Does anyone have good pics/suggestions on how much of a "service loop" you utilize, and examples of how you secured them?

Thanks,

I am at the point of needing to know this as well. I have removable panels so I have planned on leaving enough to get the panels out and work on the back.

I recall reading somewhere something like "enough service loop to cut off connectors and crimp on new ones 3 times, plus strain relief for that third one" or something like that...I think it was *here* where I read that.

I found that loops big enough to pull the panel out just got in the way. I am leaving enough to pull my 8.4" efis and that hole is big enough to access most everything behind the panel for maintenance. I may even add an access panel on the passenger side as well. I do leave enough on each wire to cut and re-do a couple times.

Chris

I have a service loop of 8" on my Dynon D-10a & engine instrument sub panel.
I can pull these off the front of the main panel, then reach in with a hand to work behind the panel.
I also have service loops on the back mounted instruments so I can remove the main panel and lower it about 6" so I can reach over it.
I tie these wires together in groups so they will be stronger cords and less mess behind the panel.

Make it a foot

I have found a foot minimum gives you re-splice options and relocation options. It is easy to roll into a very small coil and tie neatly....you will find out later more is better than less. The weight penalty and cost are nothing.

Loops is one thing...