Rick6a

Well Known Member
As you probably know by now, Senator Jim Inhofe, flying his RV-8 suffered an unfortunate incident. Thankfully as it turns out, it was more embarrassing and costly an experience than anything else.

I'm not a taildragger pilot but I will eventually be one. And as an RV-8 builder, I am leaning towards not (eventually) installing rudder "pedals" for the backseater.

Without being judgmental or jumping to knee jerk conclusions, I address my thoughts to experienced tail wheel pilots out there: What do you make of these comments?

"Everything was fine until the tail wheel hit the runway," he said.

"Jim felt like his rudder control was not what it should have been, so
it was mechanical, certainly. As soon as we hit, we fish-tailed and
spun around a couple of times. "

What are the possibilites? Does anyone know what the true wind conditions and runway alignment were that day? Is it mechanically possible for the tailwheel to malfunction? Could interference by a back seat passenger block deft application of rudder or could its optional rear seat installation somehow jam?

Don't ask me how I know this, but...

After the initial story, Inhofe told a local <Tulsa> reporter that he suspected a rudder problem before he departed on the accident flight. He looked for the problem in the pre-flight, didn't find it, and departed anyway.

The rudder system's weak link has historically been the clips that connect the rudder horns to the chains going to the tailwheel steering arms and the same clips between the chain and the tailwheel steering arms. A number of jams and failures have been reported on these items.