Steve

Well Known Member
After receiving my departure instructions from Salt Lake Clearance Delivery last evening, the controller responded with "Say type aircraft and speed."
The first part is easy but what "speed" is he after? IAS? CAS? Ground speed? Knots or statute? I realize he's plannnig for an orderly departure flow so what data would be best for his purposes?

Steve

I'm no expert, but I believe all speeds assigned by and reported to ATC are to be IAS. Every aircraft is required to have an airspeed indicator, but not a CAS/TAS calculator or GPS to calculate ground speed.

IAS

Jamie and Mike are correct. They ALWAYS want IAS in knots!

CONQUEST I Driver

IAS

Because its all relative. You can always get two guys or more to fly the same IAS to establish and maintain separation. IFR guys will be flying a filed IAS and asking you your aircraft type and speed allows ATC to slot you into the system. We're always asked for IAS or Mach (same thing just referenced to speed of sound). Works like a charm to provide separation.

ias it is

We want ias but our readout on the scope is that of ground speed. BTW...it does not always workout so well...due to altitude changes during sequencing. 1st acft @12000 and 2nd acft descending from fl240 to 12000. I teach our trainees that they can expect 7kts per 1000/ft if both acft are assigned the same ias. That is why we slow you down then speed you back up a bit once we have established spacing. Well that's from a center point of view.

Take care and good topic.....

Between winds, angle intercepts, and altitudes and other complexities, it would seem that someone managing positioning and sequence all the time would always want one number that meant the same to all in all senerios, that being groundspeed. Is there anyone flying in the system today that doesnt have ground speed? I suppose there are, but in very small numbers.
Seems one less task on the controllers to deal with if they all could just use ground speed.