I've gone over the SB06-2-23 and am puzzled (I'm also new to safety-wiring).

The bulletin describes drilling a hole for the wire in the AN818-6D coupling nut, but never the orientation of the hole. Does the hole run through adjacent faces in the nut (never actually passing through to the inside of the nut, but running outside-to-outside so to speak)?

If so, does it compromise the strength of the nut much? Is there a jig available to "foolproof" the drilling procedure?

Would I do just as well to proseal the nut to the tube after it's torqued?

Flop Tube SB

I've gone over the SB06-2-23 and am puzzled (I'm also new to safety-wiring).

The bulletin describes drilling a hole for the wire in the AN818-6D coupling nut, but never the orientation of the hole. Does the hole run through adjacent faces in the nut (never actually passing through to the inside of the nut, but running outside-to-outside so to speak)?

If so, does it compromise the strength of the nut much? Is there a jig available to "foolproof" the drilling procedure?

Would I do just as well to proseal the nut to the tube after it's torqued?

Here is what we did. Van sells the anti-rotation bracket, or you could fabricate one of your own. Hope this helps.

sbfloptube.jpg

Regards,

Special Drill Jig

Avery and others sell a special jig for drilling locking wire holes in hexagonal nuts and bolt heads. I cant imagine how you'd do it without one - unless you had a mill and even then the drill bit would wander. OK perhaps with some careful center punching, a vice and drill press :)

Jim Sharkey

You can do it

When I got the service bulletin, I was concerned about the same issues. but it really wasn't a big deal.