Jordan17

Hey everybody,

I am a college student and have been assigned to study an internal supply chain with a product of my choosing. What a great time to incorporate airplanes into school, better yet, a RV! I wanted to see if you guys have some information that would be valuable. I have attached the question below. If possible I would like to know where Van's gets their metal, rivets, things of that nature. The goal is to trace a product back to its origin of suppliers.

A. Who are the people in the internal supply chain
(the people who produce, distribute, and
purchase the items for retailers)

B. Who are the people external to the supply chain
(customers and suppliers)

C. Are there any hidden costs that may not be
accounted for in the overall price of the product?

Thanks a lot!

-Jordan

Come On Jordan, we can't do all your homework for you...

Try answering those questions to the best of your ability and research, and we'll try to help you fill in the gaps. Or at least point you in the right direction.

I feared that response after I posted the question. I actually have done some research. I called Vans and they said the sheet metal is supplied from The Pacific Metal company. I am not sure which location, but after looking on their website I would assume that it would come from one of the plants near Oregon. He also told me that they do most of the fiberglass work in Oregon. The canopies were said to come from Ohio. I figure that one of the main suppliers that builders rely on is Aircraft Spruce. I want to make my focus on how culturally diverse each airplane is due to the fact each part comes from a different supplying area. I was told that Roadway, FedEx, and UPS were the main shipping companies. I was hoping for some input on key parts that I may be overlooking that all builders rely on.

Last edited:
Some more inputs