AX-O

Well Known Member
As some of you that follow my RV-4 fastback thread may have noticed, I have not posted progress updates in a long time. Frankly I hit a wall. I did not want to admit it to myself but working on the plane is no longer fun. Just one job/problem after another. Add to that the fact that I have been promising my wife flights in our magic carpet for over 5 years and have not delivered yet.

What is the source of frustration you ask? The fire wall forward I will reply. I don’t have the skills (at this point) and have not been able to figure it out. I live in the middle of the dessert, not many people around that I can ask for help.

In order to get myself out of this “low” I have talked to my wife and we will be purchasing 50% of a flying RV-4. I know, I know, I can hear people telling me how bad of a decision that is and how it will negatively affect my fastback project. But it is what my wife and I want at this point in our life.

So I continue to chase my RV dream. I recognized that even though I have RV flight time, I have never been at the controls during take offs and landings. All my flight time has been straight and level cross country flying. I did not have to think twice about it. I knew I needed RV transition training. I called Alex and Mike and decided that I would travel down to Texas last weekend to see Alex and obtain my training. I also called my dad and asked him to show up at Eagles Nest Airpark so he could get qual’ed up. My mom found out about this plan and said there in no way my son will be in Texas and I don’t go to see him. It was a party now. Both my mom and dad met me at the airport in Dallas and we proceeded to Alex’s house.