R22CFI

I'm New Here
OK, is it just me or is the 70k-80k or so that you put into building an RV a good investment? It seems to me like it is......... A nice, well built, loaded rv seems to be pushing the 100k mark. That sounds like a solid investment. Am I seeing this wrong?
Thanks!

Well, I am no expert here, but it sure seems like it.

Specially for the -10.

Of course, as they say-----YMMV.

By the way, I notice this is your first post-----------welcome aboard!!!

Depends.

Welcome aboard, Calvin,
Yes, if you build any thing other than a -6 since they're superseded by the -7. For this reason though, you can get a lot of airplane in a -6 if you buy a flying airplane and save a lot of money over a -7. As long as you equip the airplane well, I mean a glass cockpit, good modern radios, interior and autopilot. Then you might make some money but after two to 5 years of building, a $25,000 profit on your money is ok but might be hard to make. You'd get your money back if it's a well built airplane...smooth rivets, good fit of all the pieces. I've seen RV's that were terrible examples of builder lack of skill/care with the same amount of money invested as a really clean, well built one with good color matching paint.

Regards,

Well built and equipped 6's are fetching the same top dollars as the 7's. I know of at least one that recently sold for over $100K. Many are selling in the $70-90k range with very low hours.
There is no difference in value, only percieved value. There are a lot of orphaned 6's out there, and will be for some time, so I would not pass up on one from an investment standpoint. However, if you factor in your time to build, none of them are a "good" investment. You can get your money back out of them, but not your time, unless you are very lucky.
I think the 10's might be unique in this regard however as they seem to be getting big bucks for them.

Yep, but not going to get rich