Hi all,

Just purchased an RV-7 empennage kit and am looking forward to getting going on an airplane. I am a first time builder but consider myself to already be familiar with a lot of the necessary techniques needed (I replaced a rear wing spar on my Cherokee 180, among other projects). I am looking at starting the empennage in my apartment as I am working away from home and don't have a "shop" available to me. I am wanting to invest in quality tools to get me going and make the process as quiet (read: neighbor friendly) as possible.

Here's what I'm thinking tool wise:

DRDT-2
Cleveland Main Squeeze
Clecos and Cleco Pliers
Dimple Dies
Cupped Set
Countersinks
Full Drill Index
A Few Cleco Clamps
Vixen Files
Rivet Puller (suggestions welcomed as to brand)
Fluting Pliers (again, suggestions welcomed)
Rivet Gun and Rivet Sets (get in a kit?? 2X or 3X?)

I am sure I am missing something but if anyone wants to throw their two cents in as to quality tools to look at it would be greatly appreciated. Does everyone think it is feasible to assemble the empennage in my apartment assuming I have a place to prep and prime parts?

Also, I have purchased an 18V Lithium Ion Hitachi drill but it seemed to have a bent/crooked chuck... Exchanged it; the new one also seems to be a bit crooked. Is this inherent and I have just never noticed it because I wasn't as worried with precision? I am trying to avoid running a compressor and would like to do the drilling and reaming with an electric for now. Any suggestions here are appreciated also. I've already done lots and lots of reading on here but this is my first post.

Thanks in advance!

First off, welcome to VAF!

You'll need a drill that turns faster, for sure. These seem to be the air drills, and Sioux is an excellent brand. In the meantime, look for one with a bit that's faster than 2,500 rpm. It'll probably be a plug-in type with a 1/4" chuck.

There are discussions here on VAF about air compressors for when you get home.