Joepilott

I'm New Here
Hi,

Another newbie here.

I used to own a Piper Lance (short time) and a Baron. Over the past couple of years I've looked into various planes...Controller and a glass of wine can be very entertaining! Anyway, I've spent time on some owners forums researching and learning about various makes. Seems many planes have their issues; corrosion, expensive limited parts from bankrupt companies, spar cracks, AD's a mile long, leaky fuel tanks, expensive mx issues on overly redundant SE planes, etc. But after surfing around this forum, I'm not seeing a common weakness/expense in Van's planes. At least don't see many folks complaining about the same thing.

I'm definately not going to build, so am I right believing the biggest can of worms for me would be the build/builder? Would a typical prebuy from an EAA member/Vans's expert catch the big things?

Thanks guys and gals! Learned lots of stuff here already!

Joe
(first post)

Welcome to VAF!!!!

Hi,

Another newbie here.

Joe
(first post)

Joe, welcome aboard the good ship VAF.

First thing I would recommend is for you to get a ride in an RV. Head down to Chino airport-----there are a few RV's there.

As to the design, they are pretty much bulletproof (no, not real bullets) the weak link usually shows up in the workmanship of the builder-----that is when there is a weak link.

Good to have you aboard, enjoy it.:D

A ride will almost certainly convince you that you want an RV. Your initial biggest issue is deciding which model and configuration works for you.

Welcome Joe,

The common expense associated with RVs can be directly attributed to their flight characteristics.

The more you fly them the more you want to fly them. As a result, your avgas expenses tend to grow faster than anticipated. :)

Mike

Welcome Joe,

The common expense associated with RVs can be directly attributed to their flight characteristics.