f-1rocket

Recently, I read a negative comment about Vetterman exhaust systems in the forum that requires a closer look. In hope of a little creditability, let me say that I have been flying for over 50 years to include F-106s, F-4s, F-15s and F-16s. I have been flying Van's aircraft for over 25 years, built the first F-1 Rocket to fly back in 2000, helped build two others, bought/sold and helped build over 15 RVs, and all but one have utilized Vetterman exhaust. I have never experienced a crack or any form of malfunction of these systems.

I think it useful to newer builders to hear about the evolution of the RV exhaust systems. Early on, when I began this journey with Vans aircraft there was only one source of exhaust, built by Allan Tolle. My first RV-4 had the Tolle system and after sending it back the fourth time for welding cracks, I included the prop for balance. The prop was OK, and I discarded the exhaust system as many others had already done. Problem was the only other option at the time was to have a local shop weld up something that would work. I heard through the grapevine that a guy by the name of Larry Vetterman, who was a RV builder, was thinking of marketing exhaust for the RV. I called and ordered a set of his four-pipe system for my O-320, and the result was a system that fit, never cracked and gave me a 100+ RPM increase on the top end. Twenty five sets of Vetterman exhausts later, I can say I have never had to return a set for repair.

Larry Vetterman is an icon in the RV community at the same shoulder-level as Van himself. He provided a product that allowed Vans to grow, and solved one of the major problems facing RV builders many years ago. Most other exhaust system builders today learned their trade from Vetterman.