Blastr42

I'm a new private pilot and I think the RV-9a is right up my alley for price, performance, community and mission category. The downside is I have never build much before and I want to fly my plane sooner rather than later (no I don't want to buy an already built plane).

I've seen some builder assistance programs on Van's website and was wondering if any of them work in a similar way to Glasair's builder assistance program that goes from a kit to a complete airplane (or mostly complete) in a matter of weeks. I think something like that would reallly work for me.

Does anyone have any (good or bad) experience with such companies?

Has anyone else tried to do what I want to do, has it worked?

If you have done such a program, did you feel that you still built the airplane (whether or not the FAA says so)?

Thanks for your help,
Jeff

Jeff -
I'd recommend you call EAA.
They are very pro builder, but also want to maintain the legality of the 51% rule.
I think anyone on the EAA Homebuilders Council will be able to offer good advice.
Feel free to PM me if you have specific questions. I think I can hook you up with the right contacts.
Good Luck...
Lorin D
9A Wings

You might check out Alexander Tech Center as well. They seem to have a great program. http://www.buildtofly.com/dotnetnuke/

Re: the Glasair/Glastar program. I'm not a big fan of Glasair/Glastar's program because I think they are violating the heck out of (at least the spirit of) the experimental/amateur built requirements. Their "two week to taxi" program seems to be a case in point. I just hope programs like this don't eventually lead to the FAA stepping in and restricting our priveleges because of a select few.

Good luck though. Having someone look over your shoulder as you build can be very helpful.

alpinelakespilot2000 said: