Gregmarlow

Well Known Member
Hey guys,

I'm looking for some advice here. I'm a professional pilot, American Airlines and for the last few years full time USAF Reservist flying C-17's in Iraq and Afghanistan.

Can I claim the RV build and all things associated with it (tools, etc.) as a professional education expense? I'm learning as I go and I would classify this project as highly educational.

The construction of this plane will definately help me in my professional career, no doubt.

Any ideas? Thanks in advance.

Greg

You can deduct just about anything, but whether it will hold up under IRS scrutiny is another matter. I think you might have a hard time making that case.

How about deducting it as a business, with a resale in mind after completion?

Boats and Airplanes

There are two things that will raise red flags all over the IRS, pleasure boats and light aircraft. The money saved by the deductiion will not cover the fees charged by the accountant and attorney to get you out of trouble. The only option, as mentioned by Yukon, is a business. Be aware of the "tests" that the IRS will apply to see if it is a real business. They want to see advertising, accounting, insurance, and other items. Interestingly you don't need to make a profit, but you have to show "the intent to make a profit."

John Clark
RV8 N18U "Sunshine"
KSBA

John Clark said:
There are two things that will raise red flags all over the IRS, pleasure boats and light aircraft. The money saved by the deductiion will not cover the fees charged by the accountant and attorney to get you out of trouble. The only option, as mentioned by Yukon, is a business. Be aware of the "tests" that the IRS will apply to see if it is a real business. They want to see advertising, accounting, insurance, and other items. Interestingly you don't need to make a profit, but you have to show "the intent to make a profit."

John Clark
RV8 N18U "Sunshine"
KSBA