I was about to order a RV 8 tail and get started back in Feb. (bought the pre view plans) But I took my 5 year old daughter for her first airplane ride in March and she loved it so much that now Im thinking a side by side configuration may be better for the two of us (mom is not much of a factor cause she gets air sick even on severe smooth days).

I am thinking that if my daughter wants to learn later on then the 9A will proably be her best bet. I fly for a living and got the aerobatics thing out of my blood along time ago when I flew a Stearman for a living (sight seeing rides) so the acro thing is a non-issue. I have ordered a set of preview plans for a 9A and I am about to order the tail and tools once I make my mind up for good.

I really like the 8 but I dont think it would be fair to my daughter and since this is a large outlay of family money the faimly must be thought of as a whole. I like the 7 but most of our flying will be local with some longer cross countrys mixed in. I think the 9 fits me better due to its cheaper cost to operate and slightly better x-country preformance. But reading all the 7 vs 9 threads on here I keep seeing one of the reasons for going with the 7 is the extra strength in case of extreme turbulance.

My question is, has a RV 9 ever had a wing failure period? If not then why do guys keep harping on the extra strength thing. There should be enough 9 flight hours out there now that if it was going to happen it would have by now.

The -9 is a perfectly safe airplane and plenty strong. No reason at all to avoid it unless you want aerobatics.
The "extra" strength of the -7 is for aerobatics only.

Same as me