dikranyacoubian

I'm New Here
I'm sure this is a loaded question, but... Is the 9A suitable for use as a primary trainer?

I spend 30 - 60 hours a month in the right seat of a Cirrus SR22-G2, and (no offense intended) I feel like I'm stepping into a time warp when I get in any of the local trainers -- 172s, Warriors, etc.

FWIW, I'm really a zero time student, but I've been in the right seat of the cirrus for about 300 hours.

Thanks,

Dikran

Dikran,

The RV9/RV9A is a really nice flying airplane. And there are people who have gotten their private pilot license in an RV.

The roll rate is not as fast the RV you flew in and as such it will feel more "stable" to the lower RV time pilot.

Of the RVs, it is the one most targetted by design for cross country/training/ease of flight. Now there is a big difference in ANY RV and the rest of the planes out there (even the Cirrus :) ), and this one still feels like an RV.

Stop by again and I will show you a 9A here at the field (if I haven't already).

Call or send me an email at [email protected]

James E. Clark

dikranyacoubian said:
I'm sure this is a loaded question, but... Is the 9A suitable for use as a primary trainer?

I spend 30 - 60 hours a month in the right seat of a Cirrus SR22-G2, and (no offense intended) I feel like I'm stepping into a time warp when I get in any of the local trainers -- 172s, Warriors, etc.

FWIW, I'm really a zero time student, but I've been in the right seat of the cirrus for about 300 hours.

Thanks,

Dikran

Do you have the sixty grand ($$) to exactly duplicate the Cirrus panel in your RV-9? The Cirrus has an awesome panel and if you are used to that you will probably be disappointed with most training or rental airplanes out there. That thing is one nice machine. (Note: This comment is not meant to annoy other non-certified avionics manufacturers or brand new airplanes. Don't jump on me folks.)

http://www.avidyne.com/products/entegra.shtm