DC3T Driver

I'm New Here
Hello all,
I am new to VAF and registered because i am in need of some help. I am desperately wanting to build an 8 but i would like to fly one before making the full commitment. I have flown a 6A but the fighter style look of the 8 keeps pulling me back. I hear the 8 doesn't fly as well as the 6 but regardless of the fact i would still love to see one in person. Anyway, after going through van's list of builders in Ontario i am having difficulty finding one that is complete. Is there anyone out there willing to do a show and tell and possibly a quick flight for some cash in the Toronto area? Thanks so much
Paul

Hi Paul

There are at least 3 finished -8s in the greater Toronto area. Charlie Douma in Brampton, Glenn McLarty in Oakville, and John Brian in Burlington (yeah, I know, that is not in Toronto ;-)

I'm positive there are more, but those are the names I pulled off of the Ontario RVators web site.

I don't know who said that the -8 didn't handle well. It is a hoot to fly !

Cheers

Hey Paul,

Im in Uxbridge (Im guessing maybe you're close to Oshawa being a DC3T man??), just thought that although I dont have what you're looking for I can offer a visit to a 90% done 7.

Regards,

Simon

Mark, Thanks for the contacts, i will certainly look them up. I am east of Toronto but i am willing to drive to find one. I can imagine the 8 is a blast as well, hopefully i can attest that for myself soon! ;)

Simon, you would be right about being close to oshawa. I fly the turbine 3's for Enterprise Airlines. I am leaving shortly for Ireland and wont be back home until the 8th of December. Provided it is not too busy around your place (given the season) i would love to come take a look at the 7.
Thanks again,
Paul

HA! mark its a small world, i just realized i have your blog on the 'snowbird 8' favourited in firefox from about 6 months ago. Nice to put 2 and 2 together. Beautiful airplane to say the least!