pdal

I'm New Here
As a potential builder, I am curious to hear what pros & cons folks may have ID'ed and how they weighed them in making a decision. I am assuming comparable engine/prop combinations.

I'd guess (I have not checked) the big difference to be runway performance. An RV-8 is a STOL machine compared to many.

DON'T BUILD FIBERGLASS!!! Trust me on this...my father and I have a combined over 4000 hours on a fiberglass 4 seater, and can tell you that unless the thought of 1000 hours of sanding appeals to you, it's not worth it!!!!!

On the other hand, if you want a perfect finish and are ok with putting the time in, you can always make a fiberglass airplane perfect...all it takes is filler, sandpaper, and lots of time.

Performance wise, both are great planes :)

Paper or plastic

pdal said:
As a potential builder, I am curious to hear what pros & cons folks may have ID'ed and how they weighed them in making a decision. I am assuming comparable engine/prop combinations.
The big one is going to be whether you'd prefer to work with aluminum or fiberglass. I know of at least one pilot with the tagline "Friends don't let friends fly plastic airplanes" :)

One of the reasons I chose the eight is interior size. I'm a fairly .. ehem .. portly fellow and there is no way in hail I could squeeze into a glasair. Nice, fast, plane. That is also probably why is a PITA to insure - they land on the fast side (north of 90kts from what I hear).

any grass strips?

If you are going to use many grass strips, or as stated before, shorter strips, then go the rv8 route. If you plan to always stay on pavement and do lots of long cross country routes and the glassair fits your size and load well, then thats a nice machine... but so is the 8.

There are so many rv's out there, you just can't beat the network of help and parts.