David-aviator

Well Known Member
I keep thinking RV-8 even to the point of ordering the pre view plan and now have made a deal with a friend and his Citabria to see if I can land and walk away from it. :)

There must be someone here who has experience with the 8 and a Citabria. Tell me about it, how are they alike and how are they different. Thanks.

Hi David!
I had about 120hrs in a 7GCBC when I flew my 8, in alot of ways the 8 is much easier to handle!!! Honestly the biggest diffrence besides speed is the 8 won't float like the citabria will, but having a 7 I am sure you know that.
You will love the 8!!:D

Initial Impressions

I was able to fly both the Citabria (7GCBC) and RV8 (180 hp w/two blade FP prop) back-to-back in Sept.

I'm a taildragger novice, so my comments may fall in the FWIW category:

RV8 had much better control feel (typical for the RV6A, 7A, and 8 that I've flown). Very balanced control feel and only two-three fingers on the stick, even in steep turn, and even then it wants to climb. Not to mention better horizontal and vertical visibility. :D

Citabria felt much heavier-not bad, but much more control effort required when compared to the 8, especially in a steep turn. Much better downward visibility (typical high wing, but better than Cessna due to tandem seating).

Both were fun to fly...but it was no contest. Building an 8.

I keep thinking RV-8 even to the point of ordering the pre view plan and now have made a deal with a friend and his Citabria to see if I can land and walk away from it. :)

There must be someone here who has experience with the 8 and a Citabria. Tell me about it, how are they alike and how are they different. Thanks.

The Citabria is a good trainer, and I think things happen a little more slowly, which gives you more time to react to a deteriorating landing. It'd also a little slower to recover.

The RV-8, OTOH, has much quicker and more powerful control response, and I think would be harder to learn from scratch in.