rbregs

I am a low-time pilot, with a little over 100 hrs flying time. Most of that time is in C-152, C-172, with some tailwheel experience in Piper Cub, Citabria, and Maule. I also have a few hours in gliders.

I'd like to begin construction of an RV-8 but am concerned that it's too much airplane for a low time pilot. I've attempted to use insurance rates as a sort of watermark, however the comparison is more anecdotal than informative.

I've read all the PIREPS of the RV-8 that I've been able to find including the CAFE report of the RV-8A, which indicated that the RV-8A was suitable for a "well prepared" low time pilot. I've considered the RV-9, but desire the additional structural strength, and aerobatic capabilities of the RV-8. I also prefer convention gear, as I believe it to be a more robust design for occasional operation on grass strips.

I would estimate that by the time the airplane is completed I will have a total 200-250 hours of flying time. I planned to bias at least half of the additional 150 hours time of new flight (75 hours) to the Citabria.

For the RV-8 pilots - I thought I might ask you for your thoughts regarding the suitability of an RV-8 for a "well prepared" yet low-time pilot. Any insight that you might provide would be greatly appreciated.

Bob

Get all the time you can with a good RV instructor and you will be fine, I had around 250hrs TT and 125 Tailwheel when I first flew Dakota Queen. I got all together about 12hrs in a 6 and it was a total non event flying my 8.
Go for it you won't regret it!

Thats twice the hours you need.
Get transition time and your good to go. THe 8 is a very forgiving plane compared to the other TD's your flying.

Can I handle an -8?

Bob: