bendougy

Just finished my RV8 after 14 years. I have a IO360 A1B6 with single mag and light speed ignition. Engine has 1500 hours on it. I am a aircraft engineer and went to painfull lengths to build it fast.ie no gaps at control horns/well fitted fairiings /clean lines / angles of incidence and rigging done with laser levels. Flys straight, trims in middle. My speeds are low. 5000 ft standard day25 inchs/2500 RPM 165 Knots /23 inches/2300 RPM 152 Knots/full power 171 Knots. I can blame full power speed on tired engine but at 25/2500 I am setting the power so the speed is airframe limited. My prop is a new hartzell constant speed with blended airfoil. Built a little heavy due to Christan inverted oil and large mountaint high oxy.530 KG basic wieght. Can anyone advise. Cant find any threads on it

Regards Ben

Need accurate\calibrated fuel flows.
Have you completely ran your numbers on your engine? Meaning have you plotted and coursed all manors of measurement? EGT's, CHT's, oil, fuel pressure, fuel flow, MP, OAT, timing, compressions,and so forth? The best guess for your problem is under your cowl.

Are these speeds IAS or TAS?

If they are TAS, how are you determining the TAS? Was IAS converted to TAS, or is the TAS based on GPS data from multiple legs? There are several reasons why the IAS could have large errors, which would make the calculated TAS wrong.

If you are using GPS data to get TAS, what method are you using?

What type of tachometer do you have? Any chance it reads too high?

Tell us more about the engine. New engine? Used engine? Overhauled engine? If so, who did the overhaul?