I'm still learning my 2007 model. Listed in the POH, the Gross Weight is 2270 pounds (Normal Category). It also says 6 G's 1600 pounds and 5 G's 1800 pounds. Would I be legal to fly above 1800 lbs as long as the CG is not aft of 86.82 inches and limit the G's to 3.8 (the old Normal Category limit)? I have an AeroSport IO-390, 210 HP, CS prop. I just weighed it and it's 24 pounds heavier than in 2007. It was already on the heavy side, and now 1254 lbs.

"Legal" in the experimental world is whatever you (or the builder) can get approved by the DAR. That being said, as a three time RV owner, twice with RV-8s, there is no way in heck I'd consider flying it anywhere near 2200#! Ask yourself, "Did the builder do ANY testing to verify structural loads at that weight or did they just pull a number out of the air?" Even true test pilots demand engineering verification before pushing the envelope. .

Another vote for complying with Van''s numbers. 1800 pounds for GW, 1600 for aerobatic weight. If you add a back-seater, the -8 trims out very nicely at cruise but the handling on the landing can get squirrely very fast, so pay even closer attention when you have a passenger. My personal goal for aerobatics is to keep maneuvers at about 3G max. That way if you screw up, you have plenty of room to recover. 6Gs? Nope. Save that for when you own an Extra 300 or Pitts. The previous owner appears to have taken great license with the word "experimental."

Chris

I'm sure I'll get hammered for this, but here goes. I'm 6'3" 250 lbs. I have flown my 8 many times over gross, 1850-1880 lbs with no issues. I would not do it at 2200 lbs. I'm careful about CG, always checking the numbers with minimum fuel as the CG moves aft as you burn fuel. Obviously no aerobatics and be careful in turbulent air.

I would at least get an updated W&B as other have said.