Ironflight

VAF Moderator / Line Boy
Mentor
I'm looking for anyone who has actual flight experience with the 430W in their RV-8 in regards to antenna placement. I have been flying the "straight" (non-WAAS) 430 for over five years with the antenna under the cowl, and have never once had a drop-out - it works great!

I am planning on upgrading the 430 to the "W" configuration to provide database commonality with our -3 (which has the "W" - can't get a straight 430 from Garmin anymore), and I know that the "W" antenna placement criteria are pretty strict. I'm curious if anyone has flown a significant number of hours with the "W" antenna under the cowl, or of they have found another location that has given solid results.

Pictures, of course, are always good....

Paul

Paul
Mine is placed under the cowl and I have two years and two hundred hours with it there and reception has been excellent. It is close to the firewall and a bit off centre to the left.

Mine is installed in my wing tip with solid result. My understanding of the "W" antenna installation is that you need a minimum of 13' and no longer then 26' of cable to meet the spec. I was also advised of avoiding under the cowl due to heat but I know many have installed them with no issues.

...My understanding of the "W" antenna installation is that you need a minimum of 13' and no longer then 26' of cable to meet the spec. I was also advised of avoiding under the cowl due to heat but I know many have installed them with no issues.

Is that 13 foot requirement just for the W antenna? I just moved my "classic" 430 antenna out from under the cowl in favor of the glare shield on the -8, and that results in a 13 inch cable.

Is that 13 foot requirement just for the W antenna? I just moved my "classic" 430 antenna out from under the cowl in favor of the glare shield on the -8, and that results in a 13 inch cable.