HIIFLY

Well Known Member
I am a NewBee RV-8 builder and currently have a Lyc. IO36B1E (Rear) facing fuel injection servo , does anyone know if this will work on the RV-8 ??? Or do I have to buy a Frt. Sump ?
I might as well ask about the prop too , It is a counter weighted Hartzell constant speed . HC-C2YK-4CF Type. Thanks in advance J.R.

Probably not

I don't know for sure, but there's a good chance that it won't fit. The engine mount gets in the way. You might have to substitute a different sump with vertical induction. I ran into the same problem using an O360 A1G6D, and changed to vertical induction and had to change to another carburetor. Others may have other suggestions, but you might still need to go with a vertical induction sump. Fortunately, it's not hard to do.

Last edited:
Best to change the direction to forward or vertical.....

Here is a link to an earlier discussion about the IO-360B1E.

http://www.vansairforce.com/community/showthread.php?t=40248&highlight=360+B1E

I also have that engine and I put a Superior forward facing cold air induction sump on it with the same Bendix fuel servo, etc. It will work fine. I even recall an old thread where someone put the rear facing setup into service, but as I recall it was full of problems to deal with. If I find that thread I will post the link.

Lyc, IO 360 B1E

Thanks for your reply's , I have been thinking about this and comming to the conclusion that the motor mount is the problem . It is Not designed to accept the rear Servo , So how hard could it be to modify a type 1 engine mount that would clear the rear mounted servo ? Does anyone see any problems with this ?

Easier to modify the sump than the motor mount

The rear-facing induction sump should still have the cast-in boss for the forward induction mount too. You can make a cover plate for the rear opening, have a machine shop open the front hole and put four threaded studs in. I think many people have done this.