Lemmingman

Well Known Member
On the 7A and 9A the parts WD-721 and WD-921, respectively, would seem to cause interference with your legs. These are the landing gear mounts. Maybe it is more of a comfort issue, not interference per se.

I've taken one flight each in the 7a and 9a. I remember the 9a mount hitting me in the back of the knee, and there was a bit of shifting to get comfortable in the right seat. Was this a problem with your project? How did you overcome it? If you built a 7 or 9 instead, was it a part of your decision?

Lemmingman,

I have only sat in the factory 7A, just a few weeks ago. The gear mount was not an issue for me. I am 6 feet tall and I wonder how each person may be affected differently depending on body type. I have no experience with the 9A.

I started with a 7A build, but have since changed to the 7. There are many posts regarding potential nose gear issues, etc., and I don't want to hijack your post to another series on that topic.

To me, it will be nice to have the simplicity and extra room offered by the taildraggers. Even if the gear mount did not hit my leg, I would appreciate the room for other options.

Besides: Less fiberglass work with TD, lower cowl installation/removal is easier, less build time, less weight, etc.

The 7 and 9 are less expensive kits, too.

I think if you didn't have covers on the gear mounts (mine are enclosed in fitted carpet) then the corner of the mount may hit the back of your leg a little and be uncomfortable. I have never noticed it and the wife has never mentioned it either (she's short 5'1). You do lose just a tad of leg room but I can't really pull my foot back that far anyway or my knee would be up against the instr panel.