hesty

I am considering a MT 3-blade prop in my build and was hoping for some input from anyone that has one. I know a bit about the performance differences of the MT 3-blade versus the Hartzell 2-blade, but I am more concerned about the build aspect. Specifically, how much more difficult is the install of the MT when it comes to the cowl. I am a novice builder and do not want to get over my head with a bunch of cowl/prop spacer mods. I am probably going with a cookie cutter Lycoming IO360 with horizontal induction. Any insight would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers

Chad

MT for thee?

Hi Chad,

I don't have a MT 3 blade C/S but have helped install several. Jim Ayers who is a regular on this site is a wealth of knowledge on MT props. You being in NV, he is not too far away and can help you purchase a prop and even install it possibly.

Contact him and I'm sure he can help. His VAF callsign is RVJim, his website is: www.lessdrag.com

V/R
Smokey

Last edited:
Any 3 blade makes lower cowl removal a bit more difficult. You need first clock the prop with one blade straight up, then lower the cowl straight down until it clears the spinner, then work it forward while clearing the prop blades and the nose gear leg simultaneously. Not too hard but harder than a 2 blade and more things to watch so you don't scratch anything.

Sometimes with a 3 blade, it is helpful to have a bit more gap between the cowl and spinner back plate but I have seen some pretty close fits still work.