danclifton

I'm New Here
Hi! I'm new to this forum. I'm seriously considering building an RV. I've been lurking for more than a year now. I'm currently a student pilot, kids are out of the house. Now its time to do something. I am really attracted to the RVs because there really is nothing out there that's even close. I want a 2 seater that I can fly from South Florida to... wherever my kids end up. I was seriously looking at building an RV-7/7A, until I started considering the 14. Any thoughts either way? I'm about 6' 1" and ~200 lbs, I might need some extra room.
Thanks,
Dan

Either plane will do what you want. The 14 will have more room but will cost more to build and operate. The 14 really needs the 210hp IO-390 while the 180hp IO-360 is, in my opinion, the best match for the 7, Both need the Hartzell BA CS prop if your primary mission is efficient cross country.

A rough thumb rule is the 14 will burn 10 gph for the same cruise speed as the 7 burning 8 gph. As the 14 carries 20% more fuel, the two planes have about the same range.

Carl
RV-8A (sold)
RV-10 (sold)
RV-8 (waiting on slow build kits)
RV-14 (helper)

Interior room and egress

Dan,
One of the things that seem to matter more today than it did 5 years ago is simply the act of getting into and getting out the plane and how it feels with a passenger. Getting into my -9 was kinda awkward for the first dozen times as I tried to figure out what to put where. Getting out and stepping over the side isn't really a huge problem but its a bit more effort today than when I started the kit several years ago. If you haven't already sat in one, sample it before making the decision. I built the -9 cold turkey and it has turned out to be everything I thought it would be but looking back, it was really dumb of me to build without at least flying with someone.
Good luck with your decision!

RV6/7 comfort

I spent 5:20 in an RV6 with a passenger (long range tanks). Me 5' 10" 205 lbs. Passenger 6' 200 lbs.