jtrusso

Well Known Member
I've been dreaming of building or buying an RV for about 5 years now, and have spent many hours of everyday over those past 5 years on this site reading about all things RV. I've done the homework and know that the RV is for me, it fits my mission and my wallet.

That being said I have stumbled upon an opportunity to be a 1/3 owner in a Glasair I that first flew in 1987. One of the partners is the original builder, a guy who I work with and have known for 10 years. It's an incredible deal, the cost being about 1/2 of what I'd have to pay to partner in a similarly equipped RV. The plane has a new (only 300 hours TT) O-360 from Mattituck and 3 blade CS prop (also only 300 TT). The plane is hangared at TOA and has been well cared for over it's life and has no damage history. One of the partners has moved and needs to sell his share.

As far as I can tell there are only 2 major difference between the Glasiar and then RV 6/7 1) the Glasair is plastic (ok, ok, glass and cloth, don't want to offend the composite guys :p) and 2) it stalls at a much higher speed, around 65kts.

What do you guys think? Would someone who lives/breathes/dreams RV 24/7/365 be happy with a partnership in a Glasiar? It seems I'd have all the speed/nimble handling at a much lower cost. I'm flying around in 172's and 182's right now, and the idea of cruising at 155kts is very appealing.

Sounds like a heck of a deal to me if the airplane is in good shape. Why not arrange a flight in it and then find a local RV to ride in for comparison?

On the same HP, the Glasair should be faster and will stall faster (as you noted). The Glasair I's had a reputation for aft CG, so you probably want to run the weight and balance numbers under your typical loading situations - light fuel solo, to full fuel plus bags, plus a passenger, just to make sure the airplane is a fit for your mission (s).

Same dream