RV-Mate

I'm New Here
Hi all,

I'm new to this wonderful world of RV's. I got hook after a ride with a friend a couple of years ago and Oshkosh was a true turning point for me. So while I'm saving hard towards an RV-8 kit, I'm currently looking for an RV-4 to fly now. I was wondering what everybody thinks are the essential tell tail signs of a good and ugly machine? Where are the key points to look at for an idea of the quality of workmanship?

I've noted and read the great advice that is on the Van's website but I was more interested in your thoughts of what i can actively look for to know if I've got a winner or a lemon?

Any advice is appreciated.

Look for the any distortion around the lower engine mount/firewall/gussets. Van's redesigned them to be a bit beefier man years ago.

Look for cracking rudder and elevator skins. Most -4's with metal props seem to have cracks so don't worry much if you see small ones.

Fuel tank leaks. Common and most can be fixed fairly easily.

Clearance from the alternator pulley to cowl. Can be a pain to remove the prop and install a shorter belt but not a major issue.

Any smoking rivets on the wings would be a concern. You will probably see a few around the tailwheel mount and maybe some underneath the airplane.

There are a few others that I can't remember right now.

Call Smokey for a pre-purchase inspection.

Lachlan,
The best advice for anyone looking at any model RV, when they are not familiar with RV construction (and maybe aircraft in general if you are not an A&P) is to find someone with experience in the model of RV you are looking at.
Get them involved when you find one that you have a serious interest in.