RV-4 or RV-8

• Total voters

panhandler1956

Well Known Member
Sorry I am a newbie and I know this has been posted before. But I am having a really tough time deciding on which airplane to build. I was really set on the -4, but now I'm not so sure. I am 160lbs and 5'8" and my wife is 110lbs so I definatley fit in the -4.
I guess I should mention that I plan to use it mostly for fun, not alot of XC or IFR but some, will be doing acro and formation work. Here what I have learned but I need more of a push (I have flown neither airplane):

RV-4
-better handling (according to some)
-better looks (sorry guys, imho)
-slightly cheaper build? Although harder with only wings pre-punched
-slightly better short field performance (might be an issue if I try to use my farm as home base)

RV-8
-better cross-country mount
-easier to set-up IFR (more panel space)
-more baggage
-easier build (pre-punched)
-better re-sale (although I plan to keep it)
-slightly faster (but looks slower - sorry -8 guys)
-seems like more builders out there, so you would like have more support
-not likely to be abandoned by the factory during my build time as I plan to buy the kit in sections $$$$.

I hate to spend 5 yrs buiding a std build and find out that I should went with the latest and greatest design!

Brent Owens
Columbus, OHIO

Last edited:
Brent,

I'm building a -9 so I don't have a dog in this fight. Still, I'll give you my $.02 worth.

It comes down to what type of flying you like to do. If you are really want to do acro and weekend local flying, the -4's the ticket.

If you like to do some acro and want to take longer trips with someone in the back, get the -8.

My first RV ride was in the back of a -4 and I just didn't fit. 6' tall and 200 lbs. I was hunched over with my sholders squished forward for the flight and the pilot commented about the extra weight in the tail.