I am a first time builder and my empennage kit is on it's way. I am wondering what size worktable to build. I have seen everything from 4 x 12ft single tables to 3 3x4 tables that join together in some of the other forum messages. I would appreciate any thoughts from someone building an RV12, or does that not really have any bearing on the table? I have plenty of room (building in my empty hangar) so space is not an issue. Also wondering what an optimum height might be.

FYI, I have looked at the EAA table drawings and certainly can go that way if that's the general thinking.

Dave Jablon
RV12 soon to start
Former BE-S35

Hi Dave,

I found the 10 foot white plastic tables that are sold at Sam's or Costco to be the best general solution. You will also need at least two good and stable saw horses, I built mine 36 inches tall and used a 2 x 6 for the tops. We have two large table tops and used one white plastic table and one table top on the saw horses to build the wings side by side so that as we did a task on one we could do the same thing on the other and we each could work on a wing when it was time to rivet on skin.

I also have a 2 x 12 foot work bench against a wall that I do small projects on and it has the vice and power outlets for other small tools.

Best regards,
Vern

I built two of the EAA wooden tables, 2X5 footers, and used four long folding tables for the wings. The plastic ones at Costco should work.

Jeff

Dave,

See the very beginning of my build log. The workbench that I built worked very well. The engine arrived today........Hoooray!!

Size and stability