edgeflyr

I'm New Here
Hello everyone... I'm the new guy to this site. Just signed up tonight!! Anyway, I'm an aspiring Student Sport Pilot and I am also attending College to become an A&P Tech. I've looked at a lot of Sport LSA airplanes and keep coming back to the RV-12. Can anyone help me to lock in my decision of beginning on a journey of building and investing in an RV-12. How is the safety of this plane? Thanks a lot... any info would be great... Happy Flying!!

Kevin,

You can't buy a ready-to-fly (new) LSA for this price. Van's has been around a long time and has produced aircraft with the best flying characteristics of any small aircraft. The RV-12 is lighter (and cheaper) than anything in its class. Sure you have to build it but its pre-drilled and fits like a glove...anyone can do it and have a ball in the meantime. And of course it burns 4 to 5 gallons an hour. I've already built the wings, the fuse and the tailcone....just waiting on the finishing kit. Go for it.

Pete

RV-12 safety

To date, there have been two RV-12's in existence, both Van's prototypes, and I believe the first one (somewhat different from what's now in production) is now retired and partially dismantled. No customer-built RV-12's have been completed yet. So there really isn't much of a safety record yet, one way or the other, if that's the type of info you're asking for.

But examining the RV-12's specifications and test data, and considering Van's track record, I think the RV-12 will likely prove itself a fun, safe, and commercially successful airplane.

A couple of things you should consider:

1. Get a demo flight at Van's (I assume they're doing them now with the RV-12). See how you click with the airplane.

2. Find a local RV-12 builder and help him for an afternoon. See how you click with the building process. But then again you're in A&P training, so you probably know pretty well what you're getting into for that aspect.