Dgamble

Well Known Member
With a dozen 12s flying now, is anyone willing to share how the insurance companies are treating them? Are they as expensive as a -6 (I'm paying around $1,600 annually for mine) or does the LSA aspect make them cheaper to insure?

Maybe very soon there will be dozens!!

$1850 for $60K in-motion and not-in-motion. $1M liability. I am a low time pilot, 225 hours total, 10 hours in the last 90 days, (for that matter, 10 hours in the last 25 years! Just restarted flying after a long hiatus). Had ZERO hours, in the make/model.

Through EAA/Falcon/Global Aerospace.

Maybe it will come down a bit after I gain some additional recent time and time in the make/model (RV-12).

Should be about the same a a similar valued RV-XA. Within a few $$. Being an LSA might actually make them a little MORE, not less. What with no medical, etc.

I know - not logical, but airplane underwriting is not necessarilly logical - it's market driven, so put your logical arguments aside.

Less HP should equal less $$$. The more hours you have the cheaper insurance is, all the more reason to fly alot! :D

re: cost

Keep in mind that by comparison, aircraft insurance isn't really all that expensive when compared to auto. Why? I personally think it's because it's not required. When it become mandatory, the insurance companies will cash in on it and it will go up significantly.

Marshall Alexander

insurance - fixed cost

I was wondering what the fixed costs are for a RV-12. there is the insurance, hanger rent possibly.
I have heard the argument that you to fly about 50 to 60 hours a year to have a benefit over renting. My main reason to build the 12 is accessibility. Now I have to share the airplanes with many other renters. I am fortunate to be relatively close to one of the biggest LSA flight school but it is 1 hour away and I can't get up when the weather is nice.