ssisca

I am not a regular contributor to this forum like many of you are but I have followed it pretty close for the past year that I have been building my RV-10 and I would very much appreciate some straight forward honest advise from more experienced pilots. My tail kit is finished and I am about 20% done with my left wing. I LOVE!! this project and according to my Tech counselor my work is what he considers to be very good. I am a low time pilot (200hrs +/-) with an IFR rating and have never owned an airplane. I have not flown at all over the past few years but hoped this plane would be my ticket. My plan was to start training again with a CFI for a solid year before I felt the 10 would be finished. Is this plane to much for me? I know I asked this question of Van's before I made the purchase, but now for some reason I am in a bit of a panic! Should I be? You all know what I want to hear but I am a realist, please give it to me straight. Thanks.

Last edited:
I'm building a 9A, but haven't been PIC since 1982. Yes, I have a few worries. My plan is to start getting current at least one year before my 9A is ready. Log a bunch of hours in a spam can, and then get some transition training before the first flight.

Did I mention that I have never flown with a stick before? Oh well, I think I read somewhere that these planes are very forgiving and a joy to fly. Build on and don't worry. When you are ready, you will fly!

RV-10 Is for You

First let me tell you that I am a 30 year 1700+ hour Private Instrument pilot and my RV-10 is my 7th airplane (3 C-182's, C-177, Bellanca Super Viking, RV-6A and RV-10).

My only regret is that I sold my RV-6A (wish I had both RV's) and that I didn't have the RV-10 30 years ago.

Prior to my RV-6A the newest airplane I owned was a twenty year old C-177.

Every other airplane was in the 30+ year old range.