Lepley

I am a 76-year-old retired Aerospace engineer struggling with a decision to build a std RV-10. Thought about the -14 but wife didn’t like getting into it. Over the years, I have done lots of woodworking and home building projects but no metal work. I am in the Washington DC area plan to link up with EAA 186 (Manassas, Va). Been flying all my life as a CFII and Navy pilot. Any advice/thoughts?
Larry

...Over the years, I have done lots of woodworking and home building projects but no metal work....Any advice/thoughts?
Welcome to the forum Larry!

I'm a new RV-14 builder. I've never worked with metal before and I've found working with aluminum very easy. If you're looking for something to do in retirement to keep you busy, building an airplane is a great project! If you want to fly an airplane sooner rather than later, I'd buy a flying airplane rather than build.

Last edited:
Here is a fairly recent post on time to complete a -10. It will take longer if you don’t have workspace at home.

Last edited:
Larry, welcome aboard the good ship VAF :D

The 10 is a wonderful bird, but the sad truth is it takes a long time to build, and at our age insurance becomes a concern-----I suggest you look into insurance now.

Larry,

Drive over to Dogwood (VA42) in Fredericksburg VA. You can go over my almost done RV-10 slow build. My neighbor across the street is just finishing the wings on his RV-14 project.

Send me a PM on contact information.
Carl

The 10 is a wonderful bird, but the sad truth is it takes a long time to build, and at our age insurance becomes a concern-----I suggest you look into insurance now.