[email protected]

Well Known Member
I would like to run the engine in my RV6A for the first time and I am not sure it?s a good idea to do so without the wings. It would be much simpler to trouble shoot basic problems while the aircraft is at home but I cant get it out of the garage with out removing the wings and do not want to do the final wing install until its at the airport.

I have heard there could be problems such as twisting the fuselage if you run the engine without the wings. Any truth to this. Also an suggestions about type of oil for break in, I have an H2AD and the oil requires the additive called out by an AD.

I wouldn't

Since I was a first time builder, I deferred to Vans tech support and building manual on this question. (engine running without the wings?). Both said don't do it. That was enough for me. Jack

I've seen it done in photos. I don't think you would twist anything as long as the fuselage structure is completed. There is a chance of flipping over. I would certainly tie the plane down, anchor the wheels, and not do full power runups. Warn your neighbors!!!

JMHO
Roberta

I know two RV-6A folks who did it in LA with no RV problems.....

But.... one did it in an enclosed back yard and blew all kinds of dust, dirt, leaves through an open kitchen window.... not sure if his wife has forgiven him yet... :)

The second guy did it in his driveway, and managed to totally strip his neighbors rose bushes.... :)

So, if you do, just watch where the prop blast is going, and make sure you have LOTS of clear room in front of, and behind, the fuselage.

gil in Tucson

Cleared for take off

Your climb performance will be a little off with out them, suggest you put them on before first flight :eek:

Run the engine without the prop

Is it possible to run a Lycoming type engine without the prop?

No!!!!!!!!!!!!! I wouldn?t do it.