gbumga

I don't know if I'm a kluts or what. I keep backriveting off the dang backing plate. If you've done this it ain't pretty. I managed to fix the first ones,but this last one on the last stiffner is really bad. Even if I drill em out, try to fix a good dimple it's still dented. I've done this so many times I've got a new appropriated backingplate from work thats about three feet long,but I left it at work. I can't see anyway to save this skin which I can live with but it's gotta stop. I can't have a plane with a zillion dents, some yea for character but it's getting frustrating. I've drawn lines too see outside the parts and I still do it,arhhhhh. Gene

I'm a newbie so take it for what its worth...

Learning is painful... I feel your pain. I almost got to where I could rivet my first section and I pulled the handle on the dimpler at the wrong moment and punched right through the skin... I'll never do that again (I hope!)

Learn what you can from it, and move on to the next section... save up a bunch of oops and buy new parts to replace the oops's...... you'll thank yourself later.

my .02

Got any pictures of your setup, incuding your backrivet set? I used the little plate that came with the tool kit without any issues. Maybe if we see some pics we can spot something that's out of the ordinary. Hang in there, you'll figure it out.

I almost got to where I could rivet my first section and I pulled the handle on the dimpler at the wrong moment and punched right through the skin... I'll never do that again

Oh yes you will. Trust me. :mad:

Buy a new rudder skin with your next kit order and move on. We had a rivet fall out under our rudder skin and it made quite a mess... The skin and stiffeners are suprisingly cheap and you don't want a crapply looking rudder standing up there reflecting your dings in the sun for everyone to see.

And yes, you will trash some more parts on your way.

Dave

I did the same thing.....