bolts-up or down

The stop looks like a good idea.

I'm far from an expert, but shouldn't the attachment bolts be installed with the nut on the bottom? Same with the bolt for the rod end bearing? If the nut ever came off the bolt would have a better chance of staying in longer oriented from the top down. I remember my DAR having me change a bolt for that reason in another location. Jack

Jack, you're right -- in general.

However in this particular application, the bolt goes only through the bottom bracket, so there's no way to get it in the other way around..

The only way you could would be to drill through both brackets..

PS.. I haven't installed it yet, but I got this rudder stop from Jeff. it's nicely done.. but as an early customer, I got it at a lower price..

Well its not a "knock off" of anybodys. If there are similar stops out there they must be "knock offs" of mine. ;) It's my own design. It mounts to only the lower hinge bracket and the nuts go between the two brackets.

-Jeff

This probably will start a debate but Aluminum bumping into Aluminum didn't sit well with me. However Delrin against Aluminum is much more forgiving. That was just my thought. Also when you hold that peice of Delrin in your hand, it just looks so nice. ;)

-Jeff

Rudder stop

Looks good but I think it is to close to the pivot point of the rudder and a good gust from a prop blast or jet starting to taxi could put and exesive amount of pressure (leverage) on the hinge attach fitting. Vans stops are
out far enough to absorb some more of that energy.
Ted