mkjprice

I am still a newbie here, and I have pretty much decided on building an 8/8A. I was just watching on youtube some videos about a Super 8 and a Harmon Rocket. I realize the climb rate, and the speed is faster, but it also has higher empty weight and increased fuel burn.

Now for the sticky question. Is it worth it to build a Rocket/Super 8 over a standard 8? I know a lot of this comes down to what your mission specifics are, but is the increased weight, horsepower, climb performance, and fuel burn worth the extra expense or would it be better to put a higher performance 360/390 in an 8.

I don't want to see a whole lot of arguing, but I would love to hear what different opinions are out there. I also realize that it will likely be next week before I get a lot of responses since many on the board are in Osh this week.:( Wish I was there too!

Thanks in advance.

Now for the sticky question. Is it worth it to build a Rocket/Super 8 over a standard 8? I know a lot of this comes down to what your mission specifics are, but is the increased weight, horsepower, climb performance, and fuel burn worth the extra expense or would it be better to put a higher performance 360/390 in an 8.
Thanks in advance.

Your question is not answerable. "Worth" is in the eye of the beholder. You can get 100 people to say no, and a hundred to say yes. It means nothing. Bout all you can do is look at the performance, cost, and other factors that are readily available and decide for your self. Id suggest a facts based approach. We have no way here to put any weight on the factors for you. You have to weigh them yourself.

If you have some fact based questions that dont seem to be answered in other places, bring them on and we will try and sort out the fact from fiction.
Happy to help.

May I suggest that you:
1) Make a list of the reasons/features why you are choosing an 8/8a
2) Put the list in prioritized order