OK ... so I went to Greg Piney's "laboratory" on Saturday (thanks Greg!) and practiced on building the Van's Box. That was the starting step I imposed on myself before making the final decision and actually purchase the empannage (well ... the next step is setting up a shop and that alone might take months!).

I filed, drilled, dimpled, deburred (the holes) and did other funky stuff I have never done before in my life and I don't think I had any problem whatsoever doing any of these things. They weren't hard to do ... and they weren't boring (granted it's only the box, not 20 feet worth of wing ... the story might be different on more than a couple of inches of metal box and by hole 9,999 I might get sick of it).

But still ... I sort of fell into a trance while doing all these "repetitive" tasks. I wasn't bored and I felt I could do them for hours at an end without getting tired. I can totally see myself spending a full 8 hours in the shop and getting out only when my wife knocks me over the head with a baseball bat and drags me unconcious to the dinner table to be force-fed with a funnel ...

I am actually having a very positive outlook on the whole experience. I am very glad I did this as a trial and I am optimistic that I can actually do this.

The only problem came down to be ... riveting.

Somehow I am having some trouble keeping that gun steady. I don't rivet enough: the rivets are sorta "half" planted ... not fully "squished" (is there a technical term I am looking for here?).

The guns bucks and rolls in my hands and I kinda strayed all over the place with it a couple of times. The metal was not damaged (I expected the gun to rip the metal apart if it went off the rivet but it didn't).

On the other hand some rivets came out ok some others didn't come out ok at all.

Maybe I am missing something but I was having a real hard time keeping the gun still while in operation. And that was just operating the gun.