aeabe

I am just getting started with my RV12, and have a question regarding rivets and the preparation. Van's Section 5 mentions deburring, and I have been deburring all of the holes lightly. I think I noticed somewhere that someone said no deburring of the pre-punched holes was necessary. Which is right? It would save a lot of time, but I want to do things right.
I am really having fun with this kit.
Thanks for the help.

If you look at the pre-punched holes closely, one side has a smooth, slightly rounded lip and the other side looks and feels sharper. I generally only deburr the sharp side, but you will find about as many different opinions on how much to deburr and how to do it (hand tool, 3.6V electric driver, Scotchbrite pad, etc) as there are builders. The main thing is not to overdo it. As I read somewhere, there are no NTSB accident reports that cite insufficient deburring as the cause of the crash.

Just my opinion - -

Run your fingers over the holes. If you find one that is in need, do it, otherwise most anything you do may open a spot for corrosion years later. I would say I did maybe less than 1% of any of the holes pre-punched. As said above, you may get lots of different answers to this. My plane is inside a new hangar, so I did not see any value in doing them all. My guess is tiny imperfections will get crunched down when the pop rivet sets.

John Bender
480 + hours

Run your fingers over the holes. If you find one that is in need, do it, otherwise most anything you do may open a spot for corrosion years later. I would say I did maybe less than 1% of any of the holes pre-punched. As said above, you may get lots of different answers to this. My plane is inside a new hangar, so I did not see any value in doing them all. My guess is tiny imperfections will get crunched down when the pop rivet sets.

John Bender
480 + hours

John, ditto you beat to the same response :D

Lighty deburr all holes

Mating surface should be deburred.