jump4way

Well Known Member
I'm wondering if anyone is able to steer me in the right direction regarding lighting options.

I bit of background. I'm new to the RV world and looking to buy my first flying RV-4. I have found one that I have my heart set on but am disappointed to find out that it is day VFR only. I have no prior building experience and find myself a bit intimidated by the idea of installing a lighting kit myself. Before I completely decide that I can't do it, I'm trying to gather all of the information to see what is involved. I'm hoping someone can help.

The RV4 apparently has conduit running through the wings so wiring should not be too terribly difficult. The power is a 35 amp alternator. The builder tells me that the wing tips are easy to remove. In fact he called them easy off wing tips whatever that means. There is no panel lighting for the instruments so that would need to be installed as well. Something semi temporary would work there as I am planning on overhauling the panel and installing an EFIS unit of some type down the road.

All of the options available for lighting on the van's website has left me somewhat confused. I'm hoping you could tell me what the easiest setup might be to install. I don't plan on flying at night all of the time. I just don't want to limit myself by not having the option. It seems the most popular landing and taxi light setup is an HID type setup on the leading edge from what I've read. I see the kits are sold by duckworks and are in the neighborhood of $500 for 2 lights. For the position/nav/strobe lights it seems there is an option that locates all of them including the strobe on the wingtip. I have no idea what the install would be like there though. Does it require rivoting or fiberglass work or a simple cut and bolt on type of thing?

Any advice you have would be greatly appreciated.