AWOL Arn

I'm New Here
Hello all,
I'm really new to the idea of building my own plane. I am considering purchasing a used certified plane (Mooney or such) or building one. I'm a new airline pilot so I always ask the captains I fly with. Today one told me that he wouldn't build one b/c the resale value if you have to get rid of it is terrible, whereas a good used certified plane could usually be sold for nearly its purchase price.

I am in the process of selling my boat. I've had it for 4-1/2 years, put over $32,000 in it and am hoping I can sell it for $13,000. After this lesson, I'm leary of getting so upside-down in a homebuilt aircraft. While i know that if I build one, I intend on keeping it for the long term (it goes after I die). But I also know life has a way of sometimes dealing us a new hand.

I'd really like to hear any thoughts you have on this subject. A friend who just started building stated that I could always sell a kit for near its purchase price. A couple other folks I know say that I'd be lucky to ever sell a homebuilt plane, and if I did, I'd lose a ton of money. What say you?

Thanks!!!
Cheers y'all.
Arn, Captain (soon to be former), The Good Ship AWOL.

PS, The $10,000 left over from the boat sale would buy an emp kit and tools........ ;)

Resale value is good

From what I can see by looking at the RVs for sale in various places, the resale value is pretty good. Of course, if you build it, and bill your time at $100/hour, then you'll never get that kind of money back.

I think if you build or don't build an RV because of the resale value, then I think you may want to get a ride in an RV. You may be missing the reason why these aircraft are so popular.

There is a great thread here talking about why various people decided to start building an RV. http://www.vansairforce.com/community/showthread.php?t=7865

Good luck with your decision process!