diamond

Well Known Member
Has anyone done, or considered, a removable wing mod on the 7 or 9? The 12 has it, but I'm wondering if it is at all feasible to incorporate this in these other RVs.

Don't think so..

Newbie here, but from what I've read/understand, the only plane really designed for removeable wings is the -12. I think the other planes are really meant to be left together...

Has anyone done, or considered, a removable wing mod on the 7 or 9? The 12 has it, but I'm wondering if it is at all feasible to incorporate this in these other RVs.

The wings are removable as is, actually. Just pull the close-tolerance bolts in the main spar along with the rear spar bolts, disconnect control connections along with fuel & electrical lines, remove the bolt at the tank attach bracket, and remove the wings. To connect them, simply do the above in reverse. It couldn't be easier!

;)

The wings are removable as is, actually. Just pull the close-tolerance bolts in the main spar along with the rear spar bolts, disconnect control connections along with fuel & electrical lines, remove the bolt at the tank attach bracket, and remove the wings. To connect them, simply do the above in reverse. It couldn't be easier!

;)

How much time would this require? How commonly is this done and what are typical reasons for doing this?

How much time would this require? How commonly is this done and what are typical reasons for doing this?

I think that was a joke. It takes a couple of days to put the wings on (including wiring, plumbing etc...) - maybe a day if you are fast. Also, the close tolerance bolts are 'single use' and I wouldn't want to gall the aluminum by replacing the bolts too many times.

When asked about removing my wings, my response is "the wings on my RV will only be removed by two appropriately placed trees". :eek:

Last edited: