prkaye

Well Known Member
For over 10 years and almost 500 hours i flew VFR in my -9A and never had a good habit of checking NOTAMs or proper weather briefings (as a VFR pilot i never looked at GFA, only METAR/TAF at a few points along route).
I once arrived in Chatham during an RC aircraft event. They had to clear the runway for my arrival and were irritated at that i hadn't called ahead.
Since starting my IFR training last month, i have smartened-up.
The other day i was about to leave from my home field. The runway was NOTAM'd closed because a bunch of cows had escaped a neighbouring farmer's field and were on the airport.
A couple of days ago I was planning to fly to see my uncle at a nice little airport in Parry Sound Ontario. I checked the NOTAMs to discover that the runway is closed for about 3 months for improvement! It would have sucked if i'd flown 1.5 hours there only to discover i couild not land. A couple of years ago i probably would have done that.
Another time last fall i left Kitchener ON with blue skies, and clear weather at my destination in Ottawa. An hour east of Kitchener I encountered lowering ceilings and had to divert and overnight near Toronto. A simple look at the GFA would have prevented that!
One thing about the IFR training is that it has made me much more aware of how many things are dangerous, and how important proper weather and NOTAM briefings are. I thought i'd pass along the reminder, in case any other VFR pilots out there have become as complacent as i was!

Last edited:
My airport had an IAC contest a few weeks back. I had a radio on most of the time and it was a good reminder to listen to the air-boss catch and correct people about the closed runway and wrong patterns. Lots of 'unprofessional' replies, followed by him asking if they had checked notams, then a little more friendly response...or people just going quiet and leaving the area.