JDanno

Well Known Member
What's the difference between regular ANR vs. helicopter headsets? I need to buy the best noise attenuating headset out there. "Old age" and work related noise has really done the deed on my hearing. Thanks, Dan

Plugs

The helo has the two plugs into one.

I have been using the Clarity Aloft headset for several years because of the same reasons you noted. It is the "in ear" type and really blocks outside noise. The sound clarity is fabulous.

I have used the Clarity in helicopters with great success.

I use a helmet with CEP. Sorry, but I don't have a clue what that stands for. :confused:

Anyway, I fly helicopters for a living and this CEP is really the best thing since Johnson & Johnson started selling cotton balls! Rather than using some kind of noise reduction or canceling technology (which is expensive and takes an external power source) that may end up preventing you from possibly hearing something going on with your airplane that's important, this is nothing more than a couple of speakers inside of some foam ear plugs, kinda like ear buds, that are wired into the headset - in my case a helmet - that act as ear plugs which pipe the radio and intercom right into your ears. There is a plug that is wired into the helmet, I see no reason why you couldn't do the same thing with any decent headset, and after putting the ear buds in place you put the headset on and plug the ear buds into the headset. Exceptionally clear communications with exceptionally good noise attenuation.

You can find this at Gibson and Barnes, but CEP will sell a kit to you for much less. I'll see if I can find their website for you.

I ordered a Halo to try first and if it doesn't work I'll then try the CEP. Looks like the principles of both systems are the same. Just a minor variation in how they get there. Thanks guys! Dan

Different plugs