Flying Scotsman

Well Known Member
I'm finishing up the cowling, building up various areas (around the inlets, around the oil door, etc.) to fair them in and make them match and all, using West mixed with microballoons and sanding to a smooth finish. I'm having trouble feathering the very edges of the epoxy, though, and always seem to end up with a very slight "step-off" from the epoxy to the glass cowling. I'm sure my technique is not correct, I'm not a composites expert :(. I've searched the threads, and I see that some people advocate Rage Gold body filler for small areas...while others seem to indicate that it *shouldn't* be used because of adhesion problems?

So...is it okay to use, does it work well for solving this "problem", etc.? Help!

TIA...

Steve

Can't comment on Rage filler but you should be able to get the epoxy to feather in without too much trouble. Preparing the surface to be filled properly is important as many problems can be caused by poor adhesion.

Cannot be sure exactly what is going on in your case but from what you describe it sounds like the edge of the filler is chipping off leaving the 'step' you describe? If this is the case the filler probably isn't bonding properly, possibly due to the underlying surface not being scuffed and cleaned sufficiently.

The area to be filled needs to be sanded back or roughened to the point where it looks quite dull with a surface texture that looks not unlike fine sandpaper. I commonly use 120 -to 300 grit sandpaper to achieve this. All you are trying to do is removed any surface contaminants and glossy surface, giving the filler something to 'grab' on to. Don't worry about any scratches left in the surface by the sanding process, they will be taken care of by the filler.