Phil

Well Known Member
Obviously, since I'm on the empennage section, I'm still learning the in's and out's of building. Along with being a rookie comes learning what is and is not acceptable.

Here's one of the decisions that I'd like some assistance with.

On page 7-4 you are tasked with finishing the edges of R-1005, drilling two holes to #30 followed by a countersink, and then counter sinking two more holes on the other side.

I did a beautiful job all the way down to the very last countersink. That's when the cage of the countersink rode up on a bend. I now have an oval and the rivet sits below flush.

R-1005 is the rudder horn sandwiched between the spar and the bottom rib. If you've got your plans, there's a pretty good drawing on 7-4.

Judging to from thickness of the part, R-1005 is going to be subject to more signigicant force than I would expect. Should I call VANS and get it right with R-1005 or is it okay to let this one claim victory over me?
Phil

DSC_2467.jpg

DSC_2464.jpg

DSC_2465.jpg

Last edited:
If it were mine,

I would use it. It does look like there is a bit of scratching there, needs to be polished out.

This unit ties in to the rudder in a couple more places, and there appears to still be plenty of meat left under the rivet hole. Lots of strength left, IMHO.

If you are really concerned, then by all means, call Vans. Next to you, the manufacture, they are the authority.

I would wait to see what others here on the forum say, though, before I called Vans.

Good luck.

Last edited:
Being a novice RV-10 builder myself, I've always taken a conservative approach and ask the folks here, the Matronics list, and Van's for advice when I've made a mistake. The majority of the time, the response is, "just keep building and don't be worried".

I don't consider myself an expert, but this appears to look like one of those situations.