Av8torTom

Well Known Member
Seeking input on whether it's worth getting the QuickBuild wings given the fact that there's a 4 month wait. How difficult is it to build the wings, in particular the fuel tanks.

Thanks,

Tom

Building Wings....

I just finished my wings slow build for an RV-9A.

1. There were two of us. Working more or less once a week.
2. Took about a year, no hurry for us.
3. We ENJOYED the building.
4. Not too hard, and we learned a lot, ESP. the gas tanks! Yuk! (but no leaks!)
5. I used to be an auto mechanic, but no sheet metal skills.
6. A few replaced parts, but the inspector said we did good work.

Final result:

If you want to get in the air, QB.
If you enjoy the therapy of building, BUILD

Middle: build the wings, and get someone to help with the tanks.

Dkb

My ten year old boy and I built our wings in about four months. The wings are not difficult and I recommend building them if your more concerned with saving some money. Very repetitious, but not difficult at all. The tanks aren't bad if you take your time and be as neat as possible. Go for it...you'll enjoy it.

Last edited:
Go "Standard-Build"!

First of all there's no such thing as slow build RV-9. Slow build went away with the -3, -4, & -6. With all the pre-punched holes, the standard build is so simple I can't imagine anyone wanting to go "quick-build". There is nothing on the wings (except for the fuel tanks) that you haven't already done on the empennage. Except that on the wings, it's easier to get you hands inside.
Two people should be able to build the wings in a very few months. Even the tanks aren't that bad. A little messy, but not at all difficult.

SB kit took me about 45 days. I had lots of vacation time and decided to burn it all. Wings were the result of it (April, May 2007). :D

Standard build wings