Saville

Well Known Member
Hi all,

So I'm considering buying a -8 QB. My understanding is that you get Quick Built wings and fuselage. In addition, it seems you order the Standard Empennage and finish kits. I have very little experience in metalworking - helped out on a BD-5 many years ago.

What do you builders think of this sequence:

I start with the Empennage kit.

Then the wing kit

Then the Fuselage kit.

Then the finish kit to complete the structure and controls.

Then Instrument panel

Then Engine compartment, cowl.

With the canopy in that sequence somewhere.

Q1: Is starting with the empennage with very little metal working experience the right move?

Q2: Do you have to have the finish kit in order to do the wing and fuselage work?

Q3: If I were to do it in this sequence, am I painting myself in a corner?

Q3: When you buy all QB, do the Vans-supplied plans/instructions recommend a sequence?

Thanks

Q1: Is starting with the empennage with very little metal working experience the right move? Yes, or get the practice kit and start there.

Q2: Do you have to have the finish kit in order to do the wing and fuselage work? No

Q3: If I were to do it in this sequence, am I painting myself in a corner? No

Q3: When you buy all QB, do the Vans-supplied plans/instructions recommend a sequence? They are in the same order you listed.

Thanks

You are on the right track.

Q1: Not a great idea, but it has been done. Can you order the practice kits and do those first? Maybe take a class first?

Q2: No

Q3: Sort of. It is easier to have an idea of what your avionics suite will be and start installing what you can where you can when things are more open. Installing after everything is complete and closed up, while possible, will be a pain.

Q4: Yes

Practice kit a good idea

Ah I didn't know about the practice kit That sounds like a good idea.

Ok so I'll put that at the top of my list. Thanks!