AdamF

I'm New Here
Hello Everyone!

My name is Adam Fox. I have to say this is one of the best organized online communities I have seen! Kudos to all of you who make this such a wonderful place.

I am seriously looking at building an RV. I believe I would like to build a -10. I am looking for a little bit of guidance from those who have went before me. Please answer as candid as you feel fit.

A little bit about me... My main purpose for the airplane once completed will be for vacation travel. I like to go to new destinations every chance I get, but can't stand the time it takes via car, and I have lost all patience for our commercial carrier system. I do not currently hold any pilot certification. I have spent lots of time flying with my father, who has had a ppl for over 20 years. So small aircraft are nothing new to me. I am an EAA member, travel to oshkosh when I can, and generally love everything about this great hobby.
I am an electrical engineer, 28 years old, divorced with no children. It's just me an Lucie (my giant schnauzer). I work in the medical industry as a manufacturing engineer, located in Warsaw Indiana. I design new automated systems and do some CNC programming as well. So I am familiar with making things from scratch. I have done extensive auto engine overhauls myself, and I am pretty good at doing everything at home without ever calling for help. I think I can technically handle building an RV myself.

My two questions are: 1) Is a -10 a good fit for me? I plan on going on my trips with friends/family. Not just myself. 2) Is a -10 too much for me to fly safely once it is complete? Considering I will be a low time pilot 100-200 hours by the time I finish it.

I have the income to be able to build it within 2 years if I choose to be that diligent.