nippaero

Well Known Member
Gents,
I am new to building and have been close to purchasing a new RV7 kit. However, I came across what I believe to be a good deal on a partial built RV4 from a friend. At this time I am torn about which way to go. But since this is all new for me, I do have a few questions on the RV4.

The engine is a yellow tagged IO-360 with 50 SMOH. According to the logs, it was preserved with oil and has been in a crate for about 15 years. Are there issues with an engine sitting in a crate for this long of a time? Is there anything I should pay attention to when inspecting this thing?

I am told the propeller is a Hartzell CS. 0 SMOH with no logs. It it all silver in color almost like stainless. Is there a way to identify the propeller by the numbers on it? It doesn't say Hartzell anywhere. I can upload some pictures as soon as I figure out how.

Any pointers would be great.

Last edited: